Transfer your registration and title from out of state (2023)

What you need for Transfer your registration and title from out of state

You must register your vehicle in Massachusetts as soon as you become a Massachusetts resident. The law does not provide a grace period.

To transfer a registration and title from out of state, you will need the following:

  • Proof of Massachusetts insurance through the Registration and Title Applicationwith insurance stamp and signature

  • Proof of ownership through certificate of title orif a lien exists on the vehicle, your registration from previous state

    • The following states issue a title even if a lien exists: NY, KY, MI, MN, MD, MO, OK, and MT

  • Correct payment

Fees for Transfer your registration and title from out of state

Please note that registration fees vary by plate type. Refer to the RMV's Schedule of Feesfor a list of RMV plate types and fees.

(Video) How To Transfer Out Of State Title!!! Quick Simple & Easy!!

How to transfer Transfer your registration and title from out of state

  1. Fill out an affidavit in support for exemption from sales or use tax for a motor vehicle purchased outside of Massachusetts (MVU-29).
  2. You then must go to a licensed Massachusetts insurance agent to obtain an active insurance policy and have the agent complete, stamp and sign an .
  3. If there is a lien against the vehicle, you will be required to surrender your out-of-state registration rather than your out-of-state title. In this case, the applicationmust note the complete lienholder information and the out-of-state title number.
  4. After verifying all information, sign the application.
  5. Along with the completed application, you must submit the following documents:
  • Your out-of-state title, if there is no lienholder
  • Your current out-of-state registration, if the vehicle was exempt from title due to its age or currently has a lienholder
  • Completed sales tax exemption form (MVU-29)

6. Take the completedapplication, sales tax form and supporting documents to theRMV Service Center.

Please note that WEDNESDAY mornings between 9:00am & 10:00am are reserved for SENIOR CITIZENS.WALK IN SERVICES FOR THIS REGISTRATION TRANSACTION IS ONLY AVAILABLE DURING THIS TIME FOR THOSE CUSTOMERS OVER 65 YEARS OF AGE.

Customers are encouraged to continue to conduct RMV registration transactions by working through their insurance agents and auto dealers who are able to complete bulk transactions in-person through Business 2 Business (B2B) services (Chicopee RMV is strictly a B2B location and walk-ins cannot be conducted), electronically use the Electronic Vehicle Registration (EVR) Program.

Individual registration drop-off services, which temporarily replaced B2B services during the State of Emergency, will no longer be available at RMV Service Centers.

After completing the transaction, you will receive a registration certificate, new plates and a year of expiration decal for the rear plate.

Next steps for Transfer your registration and title from out of state

Vehicle Inspection

You must obtain avehicle inspection sticker within 7 days of the registration date.

More info for Transfer your registration and title from out of state

The Massachusetts certificate of title will be processed and mailed in approximately 6to 8 weeks. If you have a loan on the vehicle, the title will be mailed directly to your lienholder.

Vehicles exempt from Massachusetts sales tax

If while a resident of another state your vehicle was either purchased and registered in that state for more than 6months or purchased in Massachusetts more than 6 months ago but was delivered to you out of Massachusetts by the seller, you are exempt from paying Massachusetts sales tax. When registering a vehicle purchased in Massachusetts that was delivered to another state, you must submit a copy of the bill of sale or dealer invoice, and a copy of your letter of delivery, which must be signed under the pains and penalties of perjury. The letter of delivery must include all of the following information:

  • The name, address, and telephone number of the seller
  • The name of the person who delivered the vehicle
  • The date the vehicle was delivered
  • The address to which the vehicle was delivered
  • The name of the person who took delivery of the vehicle
  • The vehicle’s odometer reading before and after the delivery
  • The method of delivery (e.g., driven by salesperson, on seller’s truck)
  • The signature of the seller or an authorized representative if a dealer

Note: If the seller is a dealer or company, the letter of delivery must be on the dealership or company letterhead.

Vehicles not exempt from Massachusetts sales tax

You are not exempt from Massachusetts sales tax if your vehicle was purchased and delivered in Massachusetts and the original sales tax was never paid.Sales tax will be collected at 6.25% of the purchase price or the National Automotive Dealer Association (NADA) trade-in value, whichever is higher. Interest and penalties will be calculated from the purchase date.

Bringing leased vehicles to Massachusetts

When a leased vehicle is brought to Massachusetts, the vehicle must be registered and titled here, unless the vehicle is currently titled in the leasing company’s state of residence (for example, the vehicle is titled in Ohio, and leasing company is based in Ohio).

Note: The address the leasing company is listing on the Registration and Title Application must be an address listed with the Massachusetts Department of Revenue (DOR).

(Video) How to Transfer an Out of State Title to Florida

  • If the leased vehicle does need to be titled in Massachusetts, this will mean that lessee must bring the following to an RMV Service Center:
    • An , completed, stamped and signed by a Massachusetts insurance company/agent
    • The current out-of-state title
    • A $75.00 title fee
    • Registration fee:Please note that registration fees vary by plate type.See the RMV's Schedule of Feesfor a list of RMV plate types and fees.

Note: It is the lessee's responsibility, not the insurance company’s/agent’s, to acquire theout-of-state title, if it is not already in your possession.

  • If the leased vehicle does not need to be titled in Massachusetts, this will mean that lessee must bring the following to an RMV Service Center
    • An , fully completed, stamped and signed by a Massachusetts insurance company/agent
    • A copy of the current out-of-state title
    • Registration fee: Please note that registration fees vary by plate type.See the Schedule of Feesfor a list of RMV plate types and fees.

Leased vehicles and lessees - additional considerations

  • The leasing company must be registered with the Massachusetts Department of Revenue (DOR). If the leasing company is not registered with the Department of Revenue, the application will be rejected until the leasing company registers
  • A power of attorney is required from the leasing company if the customer/lessee is signing documents on behalf of the leasing company
  • The original title is needed if the leasing company is located in a different state than the one the vehicle is titled andthere is no lien on the vehicle. Otherwise, a copy of the title is required.

Information on Massachusetts Vehicle Excise Tax

An excise tax bill is generated annually for all active Massachusetts vehicle registrations. The RMV generates the excise tax bill; however payment is due to the city or town where the vehicle is garaged within 30 days from the issue date of the bill. You are responsible for payment of your excise tax even if you do not receive a bill.Interest and penalties accrue for outstanding bills.

If you are no longer in possession of your vehicle or have taken your vehicle off the road, you must cancel your plate and registration to avoid an excise tax bill. This includes a vehicle that has been reported lost, stolen, a total loss, or repossessed.

If you have an outstanding excise tax bill, you may not be able to renew your driver’s license or vehicle registration, or obtain any other credential from the RMV.

For more details, read more about motor vehicle excise tax.

Downloads for Transfer your registration and title from out of state

Open PDF file, 423.68 KB, for Registration and Title Application (English, PDF 423.68 KB)

(Video) How To Complete Title Transfer And Registration From Out Of State While Full time RV Living

Open PDF file, 51.5 KB, for Form MVU-29: Affidavit in Support of a Claim for Exemption from Sales or Use Tax for a Motor Vehicle Purchased Outside of Massachusetts (English, PDF 51.5 KB)

Contact for Transfer your registration and title from out of state

Online

Ask the RMV Ask the RMV

(Video) Transfer an Out of State Title to Wisconsin Online
  • Transfer your out of state driver's license to Massachusetts
(Video) How To Transfer An Out Of State Title

FAQs

Can I register my car in Texas with an out of state title? ›

Registration

You will need your insurance card, proof of vehicle inspection (the Vehicle Inspection Report from the inspection station), and proof you own the vehicle, such as the registration or title from your previous state.

What is the cheapest way to transfer a car title in Texas? ›

The fee is $2 when you apply via mail and $5.45 when you apply in person at the county tax office.

Do both parties have to be present to transfer a title in Texas? ›

The Donor and Recipient must both sign the affidavit and title application. Either the donor or recipient must submit all forms and documents in person to the county tax office.

Do you need a state inspection to transfer a title in Texas? ›

Proof of Inspection

A vehicle inspection report is required to transfer a car title in Texas.

What do I need to transfer a title in the state of Texas? ›

What Do I Need for a Texas Vehicle Title Transfer?
  1. A signed and completed Application for Texas Vehicle Title (Form 130-U) from the vehicle's seller.
  2. A release of lien and/or power of attorney (if applicable)
  3. Payment for the required TX fees and taxes.
Feb 18, 2022

How much is Texas title transfer and registration? ›

The title fee is $33, plus motor-vehicle sales tax (6.25 percent). There is also a $2.50 transfer of a current registration fee. If the license is not current, there may be a registration fee.

How much does it cost to transfer a title and register a car in Texas? ›

Fees one can expect to pay when buying a car in Texas are as follows: Sales Tax: 6.25% of the total vehicle purchase price. Title Transfer Fee: $28 to $33 (varies by county) Tag / License Fee: $51.75 base fee, $10 local fee.

What is the penalty for not transferring title within 30 days in Texas? ›

To avoid penalties, transfer title within 30 Calendar days from date of sale or entry into Texas. Sales tax penalties: After 30 Calendar days, an additional 5% of the sales tax is assessed, and increases to 10% if not transferred after an additional 30 calendar days.

How long can you drive out of state vehicle in Texas? ›

New Texas residents can legally drive with a valid, unexpired driver license from another U.S. state, U.S. territory, Canadian province, or qualifying country for up to 90 days after moving to Texas.

Do I have to pay sales tax on a car bought out of state Texas? ›

Motor Vehicles Transported Out of State

A motor vehicle purchased in Texas for use exclusively outside Texas is exempt from motor vehicle sales tax.

Do I need to transfer my car title when I move to Texas? ›

How do I title/register my vehicle and get my driver's license? Be sure to register your vehicle within 30 days of moving to Texas; otherwise, penalty fees may apply.

Can you do a Texas title transfer online? ›

1. TO COMPLETE THE TX MOTOR VEHICLE TRANSFER NOTIFICATION ONLINE: *PREFERRED METHOD* If possible, we highly recommend completing forms online instead of by mail, so you may easily save and print out a copy for your records that includes a date/timestamp.

Can you change ownership of a vehicle online? ›

You can now apply online to transfer car ownership, making the whole process faster and easier than ever before. To transfer ownership online you'll need to complete a form on the DVLA website.

What happens if a buyer does not transfer title in Texas? ›

Failure to title within the 30 days results in an automatic $25 penalty, plus another $25 for each month the title is late. There are no waivers for these penalties, which means the (YOUR COUNTY) county tax office and the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles cannot reduce or forgive what you may owe.

How do I register my car in Texas while out of state? ›

If your vehicle is currently out-of-state and you are unable to complete a Texas vehicle inspection in order to renew your registration, you may self-certify that the vehicle is out-of-state and will be permitted to register online, by mail, or in person.

How do I renew my Texas car registration when out of state? ›

How do I renew my registration if I am not in Texas? You can renew your registration by “self-certifying” as the vehicle owner, that you are entitled to renew your Texas registration, but you and your vehicle are currently out of state and you are unable to complete the required Texas vehicle inspection.

Can you get registration without inspection in Texas? ›

NOTE: You must get your vehicle inspected AND have it pass a state inspection before you can renew your vehicle registration. Your vehicle registration sticker displays your license plate number, county of registration and partial vehicle identification number.

What are the requirements for transfer of title? ›

Have the original and at least two photocopies of the following requirements on hand:
  • Deed of Conveyance. ...
  • Photocopies of valid IDs of all signatories in the deed. ...
  • The Notary Public's official receipt for the deed's notarization.
  • Certified True Copy of the Title (3 copies) ...
  • Certified True Copy of the latest Tax Declaration.
May 3, 2022

Does it cost money to transfer a title in Texas? ›

When transferring a title in Texas, the title fee is due along with the $2.50 registration transfer fee or the full registration fee if the vehicle is not currently registered.

How long do you have to transfer a car title in Texas? ›

Title transfer (VTR-346)

Vehicles are required to be titled in the buyer's name within 30 days from the date of sale.

How much does it cost to register a vehicle in Texas? ›

The state of Texas requires all personal car and light truck owners to pay an annual $50.75 state vehicle registration fee. For commercial vehicles, the registration fee is based on the weight of the vehicle, and these fees range from $54 to more than $840.

What is title jumping in Texas? ›

Title jumping is when someone purchases a car and then resells it without having titled it in their own name. Also known as floating a title, the practice is illegal. A title is a record of the vehicle's ownership history kept by the state.

Is title hopping illegal in Texas? ›

It's all the same thing. While title jumping is a widespread practice, it's illegal.

How long is the processing of transfer of title? ›

The transfer of the land title from the owner to the buyer normally takes three to four months after receiving the transfer tax receipt. Given that you must visit numerous authorities to transfer the land title document into your name, including the BIR, Registry of Deeds, Treasurer's Office, and Assessor's Office.

How much is late registration in Texas? ›

Depending on the facts, registration will be issued for a full year or a penalty of 20% in addition to the full year's registration will be charged.

Do I need to notify DMV if I move out of State Texas? ›

Act fast — you'll need to visit the Texas Department of Motor Vehicle office within 90 days of your move.

Do I need a Texas drivers license to register a car in Texas? ›

Proof of Texas residency. Social Security card. Valid driver's license from the last state where you lived. Insurance proof for your vehicle.

How long can one drive a car registered in one State of the US in another State? ›

You must register your car in the state where you reside. When you visit other states, you are allowed to drive your car that is registered in your home state. Most states have rules for how long you can continue to operate a vehicle registered outside of the state. Check local laws, but the average is about 30 days.

What do you need to register a car in Texas from another state? ›

Take the following with you:
  1. Title or out-of-state registration receipt.
  2. Completed Application for Texas Title and/or Registration (Form 130-U) ...
  3. Your current driver license or government-issued photo identification.
  4. Proof of current vehicle insurance.
  5. Proof of current Texas vehicle inspection.

How much does it cost to transfer an out of state title to a Texas title? ›

Fees one can expect to pay when buying a car in Texas are as follows: Sales Tax: 6.25% of the total vehicle purchase price. Title Transfer Fee: $28 to $33 (varies by county) Tag / License Fee: $51.75 base fee, $10 local fee.

Can I do a title transfer online in Texas? ›

1. TO COMPLETE THE TX MOTOR VEHICLE TRANSFER NOTIFICATION ONLINE: *PREFERRED METHOD* If possible, we highly recommend completing forms online instead of by mail, so you may easily save and print out a copy for your records that includes a date/timestamp.

How much does it cost to transfer a car title in Texas? ›

The title fee is $33, plus motor-vehicle sales tax (6.25 percent). There is also a $2.50 transfer of a current registration fee. If the license is not current, there may be a registration fee.

How much does it cost to register a car to Texas? ›

The annual registration fee for a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 6,001 lbs. – 10,000 lbs. is $54.00, plus applicable fees including local county fees.

Do I have to change my car registration if I move to another state Texas? ›

If you're moving to a new state, you'll need to transfer your car insurance policy, register your vehicle and get a new driver's license within the first month or two. You'll probably have to go to the DMV to transfer your license and registration, but you should be able to update your insurance policy online.

What happens if you sell a car and they don't transfer the title in Texas? ›

Failure to title within the 30 days results in an automatic $25 penalty, plus another $25 for each month the title is late. There are no waivers for these penalties, which means the (YOUR COUNTY) county tax office and the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles cannot reduce or forgive what you may owe.

Videos

1. New York Title Transfer BUYER Instructions
(Family Car Buyers)
2. How to Apply for a Car Title and Registration in Texas (Transfer Title after Moving/Sale!)
(Edward in TX)
3. How to Transfer a Car Title When You Move to Another State
(Jerry)
4. Don't Make This Mistake When Transferring a Used Car Title at the DMV
(Kneble's Auto Service Center)
5. Texas Title transfer -Private Sale
(Browning's Reliable Cars & Trucks)
6. Can I Transfer the Title/Registration to My Home State After Using Dirt Legal?
(Dirt Legal)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Lidia Grady

Last Updated: 03/09/2023

Views: 5435

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (65 voted)

Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Lidia Grady

Birthday: 1992-01-22

Address: Suite 493 356 Dale Fall, New Wanda, RI 52485

Phone: +29914464387516

Job: Customer Engineer

Hobby: Cryptography, Writing, Dowsing, Stand-up comedy, Calligraphy, Web surfing, Ghost hunting

Introduction: My name is Lidia Grady, I am a thankful, fine, glamorous, lucky, lively, pleasant, shiny person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.